0
Answered

Auto delete failed uploads

Billy H 2 years ago updated by Vlad R 2 years ago 3

Can a failed  or canceled upload be automatically deleted with the upload_failed Failed File Actions?

Under review

Why are the uploads failing for you?

Some large uploads have failed, I believe it was permissions issue, but I am more concerned about when I cancel an upload and the .upload file remains

Answered

When you cancel a larger upload, there is no additional request sent to the server. So technically, there is no difference between an interrupted/failed, a paused or a canceled transfer. We expect the user to remove the temporary upload file if the file transfer is not to be completed. That is also the reason why the temporary upload file is visible to the user.

A cron job can easily be configured by the server admin to automatically remove ".upload" files which are older and considered abandoned.