0
Declined

General Permissions

Paul L 3 years ago in Feature requests updated by Vlad R 3 years ago 3

It seems that by default General Permissions override all other permissions.  If a User is set to not allow uploads and someone creates a Share and says the User can upload to his folder, the General Permission prevents this.

I would like to request an option to override the General Permissions when other permissions have been set.


Often you only want a User to download files from their User Folder and not allow them to upload or delete them... and at the same time share a special folder that that can only be uploaded to.

Having a way to override the General Permissions would allow this to happen.

Answer

Answer
Declined

For this particular case, you can create the user accounts without home folders.

Then you share both the folder the user is supposed to be able to download files from, and the folder the user is supposed to be able to upload files to, separately.


P.S. We cannot add ways of overriding one user's general permissions, as that would defeat the purpose of the general permissions and create confusion.

Answer
Declined

For this particular case, you can create the user accounts without home folders.

Then you share both the folder the user is supposed to be able to download files from, and the folder the user is supposed to be able to upload files to, separately.


P.S. We cannot add ways of overriding one user's general permissions, as that would defeat the purpose of the general permissions and create confusion.

I totally understand and I know you could simply share both, but when you have User Folders, they are grouped together nicely at the top of the file list and then Shares are bunched together in alphabetical order at the bottom.

It's really nice to have a directory structure that is laid out nicely for the User.


What about a feature to somehow specify the layout order of the shared folders instead of just alphabetical?



>>P.S. We cannot add ways of overriding one user's general permissions, as that would defeat the purpose of the general permissions and create confusion.

That is why I suggested an option between default behavior and an override.  It should be up to the administrator to decide between default and override for each User.

when you have User Folders, they are grouped together nicely at the top of the file list

You can share the folder anonymously for the same effect. See the "Options" tab when sharing the folder.