0
Declined

E-Mail Notification For Guest/Anonymous Actions

metal450 10 months ago updated by Vlad R 10 months ago 9

I'd like to enable e-mail notifications for actions even by non-specific users (i.e. when a file is viewed via a direct link, or by a guest - rather than a direct logged-in user account).  On the "Add Notification Rule" config page, it requires me to select a user or group.  Is there a way to enable this sort of notification - so if anyone a file is i.e. uploaded or downloaded via a direct URL, I can still be notified?

You'll find the notifications option under the "Advanced" panel when creating/editing each link you share.

I meant globally, for all links (rather than taking the extra step of enabling them one at a time for each separate link) - as well as for other non-link-specific notifications available in the mentioned settings.  Basically, to be notified if anyone does anything with the instance (rather than if 'one specific user does anything with the instance,' or if 'anyone does something with one specific link').

Declined

You can add all your users to a group and add the notification rule for the particular group.

But wouldn't that not handle for web links (i.e. not accessed by a specific user - just creating a share link & sending someone the URL)?

Web links are created by users and accessing a link will get the action logged in the user's activity log, thus the action is available for a notification trigger related to the particular user that created the link.

Ah!  Makes sense - I thought notifications applied to the user accessing the link, not based on the user who created it :)

However, it seems that it won't let me add the superuser to any group.  I try to create a group, click "Add Users," but the selection box is empty (just the same as when trying to select users in the notification setting).  The superuser is my only user.

That solved it.  Note that this was a fresh/from-scratch installation, so I guess there's an issue with the default setup ;)

We are aware of the issue and it will be fixed soon. The superuser account shouldn't need configuring in order to see other users, particularly himself :)