+2

Set Max Trash Age?

metal450 1 month ago in Feature requests updated by Setor de Ti P 1 month ago 9

What is the retention time for files in the trash?  I wasn't able to find a setting for this in the UI options, or documented under https://docs.filerun.com/advanced_configuration

Thanks in advance :)

Answer

Answer
Answered

Until somebody deletes them individually or empties the trash.

Answer
Answered

Until somebody deletes them individually or empties the trash.

So they'll just remain forever, growing infinitely without bound?

If that's the case, how can I disable trash entirely? So when i.e. items are deleted by NextCloud, they're deleted (and don't require a separate manual action to complete the deletion)?

How can this be automated in the Docker version?  Adding a cronjob would be lost whenever the container is destroyed.

(Seems like this would be a pretty common need, no?  It's hard to imagine most users desiring files never to be truly deleted, as storage usage would grow infinitely...?)

The trash folder sits in the persistent storage (inside the users home folders as the ".filerun.trash" hidden folder), you can just delete the folder from there whenever you wish. It's safe to do so.

Alright, I guess I'll use a cronjob from the host system to delete the folder for now.  Seems like a prime candidate for a very easy option tho - to avoid having to 'externalize' this behavior as the only thing managed by outside the container.

We try hard to avoid features that can destroy data in an automated way, even if the data is in the trash folder, as we've seen sad stories from the less technical people.

Nevertheless, this topic is recurring, so I've change it into a feature request. If it gets upvoted, we'll consider adding an option for setting a retention time for the trashed files.

+1

Understood.  Perhaps if it were an advanced setting (i.e. which actually requires creating a php file to configure the option) it would 'filter out' less-technical people from accidentally enabling it.  If one goes to the effort of making that file & adding the necessary php code...they probably did so pretty knowingly/deliberately ;)

This feature is very useful for companies, not to keep electronic waste.