0

reset user

gary.parr 2 months ago updated 4 weeks ago 1

How does one go about resetting or completely clearing all information about a user? Specifically any metadata associated with a user.

I had a symlinked folder under a given user profile that was later removed at the filesystem level. No matter what I try, I cannot seem to get FileRun to remove the metadata for those no-longer present items. I've run the metadata scripts, the clean paths scripts, deleting and re-creating the user without deleting their home, and then deleting and re-creating the user again this time deleting their home directory.

No matter what, when this user logs back in the Music and Photos virtual libraries show virtual folders for content that does not exist. I've got lists of Artists, Albums, Date Taken, etc that, when clicked, show "there are no files here" which should mean that those Artist, Album, etc. virtual folders shouldn't be there in the first place, right?

Thanks,

Gary

Just wanted to leave an update on this issue. I applied the most recent update and re-ran the paths cleanup script. The phantom virtual folders are gone now. Not sure if the update fixed this or I was simply seeing cached results before that are now cleared out, but whatever it was... I'm all good now!